First Week of Tweets!

21 01 2009

When I first signed up for Twitter because of my Intro to Public Relations class, it was nothing like I had expected.  For some reason I assumed it would be something more like Facebook but with maybe a little less pictures.  Instead, I found an interesting communication site with posts from people willing to share valuable information.  Not only did Twitter offer valuable information from knowledgeable people but also funny and interesting comments from what could be considered some “colorful characters”.  

At first, I saw absolutely no point in the website.  It just looked like a site where people sit around and tell each other what they are doing at the time…and I could always do that on facebook, anyway.  Another thing is that people began to “follow” me!  In this first week I acquired 59 followers and got emails about each one of them.  It really seemed strange and considering I didn’t have too much to say, I was confused on why anyone outside of my class would want to look at my posts.  

As the week went by, I began to follow more and more people which gave me the opportunity to see more posts from students and graduates to teachers and professionals in the field of PR.  People would post links to interesting sites and give wonderful tips about anything and everything you can think of.  But the most helpful were the suggestions about PR!

 I myself am a public relations major and now find Twitter to be extremely helpful in many aspects.  I check it about 3 or  4 times each day and love how I don’t have to spend more than a few minutes logged on because it is so fast paced.  I will continue to use Twitter even after my Intro to PR class and am so thankful that Barbara Nixon prompted us to sign up for Twitter.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 02 2009
Barbara Nixon

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about the One Week of Twitter experience. It’s good to hear that you’re understanding the power it may have in the life of a PR professional.

9 02 2009
Sarah Schoenholtz

I felt the same way about Twitter when I first joined. I joined because of my Online Journalism class last year. Since then, I have been able to use Twitter to find sources (I’m a journalism student and a working reporter) and break news stories that would have otherwise not been broken. (e.g. a fire broke out in a house down the street from mine at about 2:30AM one morning during summer break, no reporters were on the scene except me, I broke the story on Twitter and local newspapers wanted to use me a source!)

Twitter is a valuable tool in my life and I’m glad to read that you have found it useful as well.

By the way, I found your blog through your teacher’s “Tweat” on Twitter and followed a link to her class website where I clicked on your name because it was the same as mine.

Leave a Reply

